Quest for Catrin: Photographic Adventure (Part 1)


!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,”script”,”twitter-wjs”);

Quest for Catrin: Photographic Adventure (Part 1)

Inception

In April, Rebekah West and I met for lunch to catch-up on our new life adventures. We first met in 1999 when I signed-up for a flamenco class in which she was the instructor. Rebekah inspired women like me to combine grace, strength, and rhythm through dance and palmas. She combined her theatrical background and choreography to showcase the fire of flamenco in stage productions. We continued to stay in touch as each of us ventured on new pathways. Previously, Rebekah had photographed my family members and created collages which I treasure.

Rebekah told me about her creative services for photography that vividly transforms a vision into final images [Rebekah West Photography and Creative International; Website: http://rebekahwest.com%5D. I spoke of my new passion for writing my first novel, APOLLO’S RAVEN, a historical fantasy about Catrin—a Celtic warrior princess. We bounced a plethora of ideas off each other on how my vision of Catrin could be transformed into photographic images.

Challenges

We scheduled a photo shoot for June 13 when my granddaughter, Maylin, would reenact a scene from Chapter 1. With Rebekah’s background in dancing and theater, she was in her “element” coordinating all the props, assistants, and locations for the photographs. Quickly she had to meet the following challenges in traveling back to first-century Britain to set the stage:

  • Authentic Celtic costume and weapons
  • Landscape similar to Dover Cliffs hillside in Britain, the setting of the story
  • Make-up to transform Maylin into an older Celtic warrior princess

Below is the first of a series of photographs of Maylin reenacting a Celtic warrior princess.

Celtic Spiritual Warrior

Celtic Spiritual Warrior

My next series of blogs will unfold how Rebekah West transformed Maylin into a Celtic warrior princess based on historical evidence of first-century warrior queens in Ancient Britain.

(To be continued—Quest for Catrin: Photographic Adventure)

 

6 thoughts on “Quest for Catrin: Photographic Adventure (Part 1)

    • Hi Rebekah,

      Thank you for your reply. The creative photographic experience inspired me in my writing and gave me an opportunity to see my heroine come to life through my granddaughter.

      Like

  1. I as well as my friends have already been viewing the great information and facts found on your web blog then quickly got an awful suspicion I had not expressed respect to you for those techniques. My boys were certainly stimulated to learn them and have in effect in reality been loving these things. Thanks for being considerably accommodating as well as for selecting varieties of wonderful topics millions of individuals are really desperate to understand about. My sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

